RIPPLE 05-31-06

March 10, 2008

Today I took a walk to the beach. On the way down the trail I saw a couple of Red Wing blackbirds.
0014.jpg
0024.jpg
It was only about an hour after sunrise. Steam was still rising off a small fresh water pond just short of the beach.
  The steam was only visible in the shade of the valley wall.
0034.jpg

A small stream flowed from the pond, across the beach, to the waiting Pacific Ocean. It was only a couple of inches deep.
 As I followed the stream I was intrigued by how the ripples on the surface created patterns in the sand.   I love how small details in nature mimic nature on a much larger scale. It looked like an aerial image or a shot from space.
0045.jpg
Looking closer, I noticed that the ripples were casting, not a shadow, but a ribbon of light.
0054.jpg
This brought me to my knees. I was on my knees with my elbows stuck in the sand to steady the camera and witness the wonder.
0064.jpg
Enjoy this day and the wonder of your own light.
Jerry
Jerry Downs Photography
P.O. Box 1082
Larkspur, CA 94977
415-686-2369
……..
Reach out your hand if your cup be empty,
If your cup is full may it be again,
Let it be known there is a fountain,
That was not made by the hands of men.There is a road, no simple highway,
Between the dawn and the dark of night,
And if you go no one may follow,
That path is for your steps alone.Ripple in still water,
When there is no pebble tossed,
Nor wind to blow.

……..

La dee da da da, La da da da da, Da da da, Da da, Da da da da da
La da da da, La da da, Da da, La da da da, La da, Da da.

Ripple

The Grateful Dead

Leave a comment